Ch-Ch-Changes…

So, I saw my new endocrinologist last week.  And she changed up a lot of my meds.  She added Trulicity to help steady my blood sugars.  My HGBA1C has never been out of line since my gastric bypass surgery, but, my blood sugars have been all over the place since chemo.  Quite possible the chemo and radiation affected my poor pancreas.  So, adding the Trulicity (once a week shot) has helped steady my blood sugars, but oy vey the side effects.  Yuck.  This week was a rough one.  Nausea.  Thankfully I still have zofran left over.

She also switched me back to the generic form of Crestor.  They had me on a statin since my heart attack, even though my numbers are stellar.  The statin has been shown to prevent further heart attacks in the long run, so I elected to stay on it.  At some point last year, my insurance would no longer pay for Crestor, so they switched me back to Lipitor, but it was a stronger dose and gave me horrible leg cramps.  Now that they have a generic for Crestor, they switched me back.  Much lower dose, and bye bye leg cramps.

My new endo also recognized that because I have had both Gastric Bypass AND cancer treatments, my anemia just is.  She didn’t scare me to have me believe I’m bleeding from somewhere.  She’s going to monitor my B12 levels.  The new meds plus the change in iron brand have caused some other issues, but I’m working through them.

She’s got me an appointment to see a nutritionist in two weeks.  I told her that my old endo would yell at me for eating the wrong things (um, everything I seemed to eat was wrong) but would never tell me the right things to eat.  New endo thinks I need to stay keto (yay) but wants me to see the nutritionist to make sure that I’m getting everything I need thanks to the bypass and the Trulicity (it keeps things in your stomach longer, so you feel full really fast).  New endo is also doing a full RNY Blood work up in January.

I also went to see my primary care because oh my god the anxiety has reared its ugly head big time.  He put me back on buspar.  We are house hunting, and it’s just…ugh.  The ups and downs are killing me.  We put in an offer this weekend on a house (we were the first showing, by the way) and in the time it took us to actually write up the offer, another one came in.  Both offers were competitive, but she took the other one over ours and didn’t want us to counter.  Boo.  I loved that house.

So, that’s where things are right now.  I’m all Stressy McStresserson.  I hate it.

Leave a Reply

