My Story Still Needs to be Told

I was watching the news last night, and they had a teaser about a nurse who saw something on a TV personality, and called to warn them about it.  When the story finally came up, it was about the couple of does the show Flip or Flop on Home & Garden.  During an episode, a nurse in Texas spotted a lump on Tarik’s neck and called the production company to urge him to go get it checked out.  It was too low to be his Adam’s Apple, and she was concerned.  Turns out, he had gone in a few times to have it checked by other doctors who all said it was nothing to worry about, but when he went this time, they determined it to be Thyroid Cancer.  He’s in remission now.  And alive thanks to that nurse.

As cancer patients, survivors, and fighters, our stories…they are our awareness.  What happened to us, the telling of that story, can easily save someone else’s life.  Sometimes, actually a lot of times, I forget that.

I was with a coworker yesterday.  She was telling me that she was having back pain and had experienced some heavy flows with her periods.  And I was spurred on to tell her my story.

Many people know little to nothing about gynecological cancers, and their signs and symptoms.  Lots of women my age attribute heavy periods to menopause.  Back and hip pain don’t make you immediately think of cancer.  Swelling in the summer?  Well, yeah.

My story is mine.  I was full of cancer warning signs that NO ONE knows about.

So I will continue to tell my story.  It is mine, and it is worth telling.  And it could save someone else’s life.

Continue to tell your story.  Touch the world.

Leave a Reply

