Quick Anemia Update

I don’t know if I mentioned this or not, but my Gastrointerological Oncologist is among those who believe that my anemia is related to my Gastric Bypass Surgery.  Because my surgery bypasses the part of the intestines where iron is absorbed, patients like me tend to be anemic.  Here’s an article that explains it:  http://www.hindawi.com/journals/bmri/2013/205467/.

As long as he isn’t concerned that there is a recurrence of cancer, I’m good with it.

His prescription:  take the iron supplements with vitamin C and eat LOTS of red meat.

Well, you don’t have to tell this carnivore to eat read meat more than once.

Done and done.

🙂

Leave a Reply

