Still Sweating After All These Years

I had my two-year appointment with my oncologist last week (still cancer-free – whoo hoo!) and he asked me if I was still experiencing menopause symptoms.

Yup.

Two and a half years out of my surgical hysterectomy, the menopause is still a bitch.  I’m less moody (well, the hubster might disagree with that…LOL), but I still have a horrible time with hot flashes and night sweats.  Every time I think the hot flashes are dying down, they come back with a vengeance.  Sucks mightily, I tell you.

You know, I used to wish for a time when I no longer had to deal with my period, but honestly, it’s no better on this side.  Sure, I save money on tampons and I don’t have to have “period pants” anymore, (ladies, you know the ones I’m talking about), but things aren’t really greener on this side.  Menopause has its own host of bogies.  Hot flashes, night sweats, moodiness, vaginal dryness (this one is especially bad for me thanks to radiation and scarring), increased leg cramps, and having to pee a million times at night (sigh – that could be due to my radiation too – but ever since, I have to get up a few times a night to pee – and my blood sugars are just fine, thankyouverymuch).

The worst part are definitely the night sweats.  Waking up in a pool of your own sweat is just gross.

OH, or having a hot flash in a meeting at work.  When everyone is trying to be professional, and you are searching frantically for a manilla folder to fan yourself with.

Fun times.

What am I trying to say here?  Oh, I don’t know.  Be careful what you wish for?  Invest in a fan?  Who knows.

Because I don’t remember.  Menopause effects that too.

Yup.

Is it hot in here, or is it just me?

3 thoughts on “Still Sweating After All These Years

  1. Due to my hormone therapy I know all about hot flashes and night sweats. It’s amazing how much and how fast your body can squeeze out thru those sweat glands.

  2. Congrats on your test results! I’m sorry you have to deal with the symptoms of menopause. I did for three years on Tamoxifen and will have to again soon . .. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

