Things They Don’t Tell You Post Weight-Loss Surgery

Yeah, Yeah…I know, this is a blog about being a cancer patient.

BUT, a big part of my life has to do with the fact that in 2009, I had RNY Gastric Bypass, and as a result, have lost 150 pounds.

It’s actually one of the things that may have triggered my cancer, but all things considered, the weight loss surgery saved my life.  It put my diabetes, high blood pressure, high cholesterol, and heart disease into remission (in fact, the heart disease completely reversed itself).

One of my motivations for weight loss surgery was the fact that I have degenerative cartlidge disease – which means my connective tissues degenerate at a faster rate for no reason at all other than bad luck.  As a result, I have had to have surgery on my right knee once, and on my left knee twice – the 2nd surgery was just last year – post RNY).  I have had dislocated ankles.  I have serious osteoarthritis just about everywhere, including my lower back.

When I was going to the educational meetings I was required to attend prior to my RNY, I was told, “Losing the weight will make you FEEL so much better – it will rid you of joint pain!”  Well, they had me at the diabetes in remission, but that was like the cherry on top of the sugar-free sundae.  I was in.  On it.  Ready to sign up.  I had my psychiatric evaluation, my sleep apnea test, my legs scan (to look for potential blood clots), my chest x-ray, stress test…everything I had to do…and I had my surgery.  And I lost that weight.

And you know what?  My joint pain, well, it never went away.

I spoke to my orthopaedist about it and he said, “well, losing the weight should have helped lessen the stress on your joints.”  And technically it has.  What they don’t tell you about spending the majority of your life morbidly obese?  That once you do lose the weight, your body isn’t prepared for the way your bones fit together anymore.  You joints are loose.  And the arthritis and pain, well, they get worse.

Whatthewhat?

I spoke to my ortho about it and he said, “Naturally, your bypass surgeon isn’t going to tell you that – it’s not a selling point of the surgery.”

Well, butter my biscuit.

And crap.

So, today, I am in horrible pain.  Because having a thyroid condition exacerbates joint pain even more.  And it is a whopping 20 degrees out there today.  So I ache.  I can barely move up and down the steps today.  Seriously.  Ouch.

A little truth in advertising goes a long way.

One thought on “Things They Don’t Tell You Post Weight-Loss Surgery

Leave a Reply

