Surfacing Cleanly

Between feeling like crap because of the bronchitis, and feeling even more crappy because of low thyroid, it is pretty obvious that lately, I have felt like crap.

I have started to surface over the past couple of days and am starting to feel better.  My endocrinologist upped my thyroid meds last week, so it may be they are starting to kick in, but the full effect of that won’t really be evident for another week or so.  I know the bronchitis is getting better.  I also know that cutting out all the crap in my food has helped.

Clean eating has been a good thing.  Getting rid of food that is full of chemicals and preservatives has been beneficial.  Cutting out bad carbs, most dairy (I still eat greek yogurt and cheese but no milk or cream), nitrates, preservatives, and general crap has just made me feel better.  My skin looks great, even more elastic.  Things that sagged before on my face don’t seem to sag as much.  Black circles under my eyes are starting to fade. 

I was skeptical at first, but this is working.

I have also given up all artificial sweeteners, including stevia, which still has to go through chemical processing.  I use honey to sweeten things, just a bit, and it has not had the same craving effects that artificial sweeteners have given me.  In fact, my cravings are not there because there is a clean eating alternative to it, that is natural, and good! 

I can see the visible results of clean eating, and feel the health benefit.

Nature…who knew? 

And, a quick recipe.

Last night, I made chicken for dinner.  I took boneless, skinless chicken breasts, and made horizontal slits through them.  In the slits, I put a little pepperjack and cream cheese.  I seasoned it with some garlic powder and herb de province, and covered the breats in sliced mushrooms.  Baked it at 375 for 35 minutes, and served it with steamed broccoli and cauliflower.  For dessert, I made a fresh fruit salad of an orange, a pink grapefruit, strawberries, blueberries, a banana.  I dressed it with a dressing made of greek yogurt, honey, a little lemon juice, chopped mint, and chia seeds.

image

image

Delicious!  Even the husband approved!

Leave a Reply

