Clean Eating Vegetable Beef Soup

Ok – it’s cold here.  We’ve had a cold snap that has been going for days.  Blah blah polar vortex blah blah.  And when I’m cold, I want comfort.  I want leggings, and big sweaters, and cozy socks!  And I want homemade yumminess that is soup.

Long ago, maybe about 8 go rounds with Weight Watchers ago, I got their standard recipe for Vegetable Soup.  It was the one that you could eat a ton of because it had no points.  And I love that soup – it’s tasty, and easy to make.  But, I wanted to tweak it so that 1) my husband would eat it (he will only eat soup with protein in it); 2) it was clean and organic; and 3) I could still make it on the cheap.

So, once again, I raided my local farmer’s market after church yesterday (and my freezer).  I picked up a huge head of cabbage, 4 small turnips, 3 parsnips, 3 leeks, a small package of mushrooms, some organic low-sodium chicken broth and some organic low-sodium vegetable juice.  These ingredients cost me $7.  Yes, $7.  I already had celery, carrots, and a 2lb chuck roast at home.  I got the chuck on sale from my local grocery store, but bought it on the “last day” so it was a manager’s special and marked down to $3.

In my large dutch oven, I put in two tablespoon of coconut oil.  I diced the beef into bite sized pieces (and cut off the big chunks of fat) and seasoned them with lots of pepper and a smidgen of kosher salt.  Then I threw them in the pot and browned them.  While that was browning away, I rinsed my leeks.  Three times.  You have to to get the sand out. Otherwise, it’s grit city.  Once nice and rinsed, I sliced them up and threw them in with the beef and let them sizzle away together until the leeks softened and the meat was nice and brown.  Then I poured in the vegetable juice (it was about 3 cups) and the chicken broth (about 4 cups), reduced the heat to medium, and let it come to a boil.  I let it boil for about 5 minutes and then added a bay leaf, some dried oregano and parsley, and then reduced the heat to low and let it simmer.

While that was simmering away, I peeled and diced the turnips, carrots, and parsnips into bite sized pieces.  I chopped up a couple of stalks of celery (with the leaves because they are yummy).  I rinsed and sliced the mushrooms.  I took a quarter of the cabbage and chopped it.  Then I proceeded to toss it all in the pot.  I added more black pepper, put the lid back on, and let that baby bubble away for 30 minutes.

Delicious, yummy, healthy soup.  This makes a ginormous pot of soup y’all.  Seriously.  About 20 1c servings in this bad boy.

image

Unless you live with us, in which case we will snarfle it pretty quick pretty fast.

So, according to SparkPeople, this is about 168 calories per serving.  There are 10.4 lovely grams of protein per serving, and about 7g of net carbs.  About 10g of fat from the beef and the coconut oil.

Leave a Reply

