Hummus

I love hummus.  It was one of those acquired tastes for me, but once I did, I just fell in love with it.

As part of eating clean, and getting the right foods into my diet, I decided to make it myself.  Plus, it is cheaper that way.

I can find Tahini paste at the international foods section of my Farmer’s Market.  If you don’t shop at one, you should.  Fresh, local produce, benefiting local growers and merchants.  You can also find it in grocery stores in the International Section. Or even Wally Workd or Tar-jay.

For those of you who don’t know, hummus is basically ground chick peas and garlic.  You can dip fresh veggies in it, or pita chips.  You can also use it in place of mayo.

Here is the main cast of characters I used (garlic not pictured).

image

1 15oz can of chick peas
1/4 c of tahini
2 tbsp of fresh lime (or lemon) juice
Chopped garlic
2 tbsp of olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste

First, I rinsed the chick peas, to get rid of the canned taste.  This isn’t required, but I am sensitive to canned stuff.

image

Then I put them in my little blender. 

image

I added the tahini next.  (Tahini is a paste made of sesame seeds).

image

Then, the limes.

image

Mine didn’t want to give up the juice so I stuck them in the microwave for 15 seconds.

Next garlic.  Now, I love garlic-y hummus.  So I added a lot.

image

Then, you blend it.

image

Then stream in the olive oil until it is smooth.

image

This is when I added the salt and pepper, until it tasted right to me.

image

Put it in the fridge and it will firm up some.  Mine was already pretty firm, because I rinsed my beans.  But if you don’t rinse, it will be a little more loose.

You can substitute a ton of ingredients when naking this.  Black beans, cannelini beans, whatever.  You can add pinenuts, roasted peppers, jalapeños,  pinenuts…whatever your tastes fancy!

Leave a Reply

