Eating Clean in ’15

I had a huge ham bone left in the fridge from Christmas Merry Making, so today I decided to make a big pot of soup while waiting for Mia at the groomer’s.

I threw the ham bone in my big ass dutch oven and put in a can of organic low sodium chicken broth.  Then I threw in the aromatics – diced carrots, onions and celery.  I let it bubble for half an hour or so, and then I took the ham bone out.  The meat left fell off the bone, and I three it back in the pot.

Then I added a leftover piece of cabbage that I diced up, two zucchini I had on hand, diced tomatos, and two cans of cannelini beans that I rinsed thoroughly.  I added some fresh cracked pepper, some dried basil, parkey, and oregano, and just let it bubble away.

I buy most of my veggies at the local farmer’s market, so they were dirt cheap.  The only expense put into this soup was for the chicken broth, which was $3 at Walmart.  So, the soup was really cheap and easy to make, and full of protein and good carbs.  For less than probably $5 for the pot (you can get soup bones at the butcher or farmer’s market cheap).  Way cheaper and better for you than canned soup at the market that is full of preservatives and sodium.

image

Leave a Reply

