Eating Clean in ’15

So, I have been doing a lot of reseach on hypothyroidism, how my thyroid replacement meds and my system interact, and living life with no thyroid.  Everything I read leads to clean eating, and my endocrinologist backs that up.  Clean, natural foods.  Healthy fats (olive oil, coconut), fresh fruits and veggies, natural protiens, and whole grains.  I have decided to give it a go, and will be clean eating.

That means more than just eating well, it also means eating at home, preparing my own meals, and avoiding all processed foods.  This includes carbonated beverages, alcohol, sugar substitutes of all kinds, and a lot of dairy products (that is for the thyroid meds, they make it hard for the body to absorb the thyroid meds). 

I have been busy pinning recipes and meal plans.  I will post them here, as th his is also good for cancer patients.

Today, I made banana oat muffins.  They are delicious.

image

1c plain greek yogurt
2 very ripe bananas
2c rolled oats
2 eggs
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4c brown sugar
1/2 c mini chocolate chips (I used dark  chocolate, they are lower in sugar).

Spray a 12 c muffin tin with cooking spray.  Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

In n a blender or food processor, blend all ingredients except chocolate chips until smooth.  Stir in chips by hand.

Pour into prepared muffin tin until each one is 3/4 full.  Top with a few more chocolate chips.

Bake for 15 to 20 minutes until top is set and toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Cool in pan 10 minutes.

You can store in airtight container up to a week.

These are very low in sugar, as there is only a quarter cup in the recipe, divided over 12 muffins.

image

Leave a Reply

