A Season of Thanks

I hope all my American Friends, Family and Readers enjoyed a lovely Thanksgiving yesterday and remember what’s most important.  I am thankful for another day above ground, my wonderful husband, my family and friends, my new niece or nephew on the way, and my oncologists who made yesterday a possibility for me!

We spent a “mostly” quiet day yesterday.  I got up and took advantage of the early “Black Friday” online specials, and got my Christmas shopping about 99% done.  Of course, this excludes two bottles of booze (for hubster and bro-in-law) and some stocking stuffers.  I did most of my shopping through the eBates website and not only got some awesome deals, but also ended up getting about $50 cash back on my purchases in the form of a check which will come in February.  If you haven’t heard of ebates, go check it out – seriously.  Especially if you are an online shopper.  No commitment, no pyramid scheme…just cashback on participating retailers.  I’ve been using it for a couple of years.

We went to my sister’s for dinner.  I made potato bread to take, as well as some collard greens, a sugar free sweet potato cheesecake with sugar free whipped cream, and took a thing of frozen mac and cheese.  Good thing I took the greens, because other than the turkey, I was pretty limited in what I could eat on the table.

I’m working today, albeit from home.  My hubs left this morning for his annual hunting trip, and will be back next Wednesday.  I’ll be working from home until he gets back.  I know most people get Black Friday off, but being as I work in banking, and people tend to storm big box stores on this post holiday shopping spree, I am working.  No worries…I’m sitting on my bed, watching Survivor, with a kitty and a dog (one kitty is in a ball in her kitty bed), and will soon be proof reading documents.  Fun stuff.  I do have to go to the grocery store later as we have no leftovers.  I also have to hit the post office this weekend for Christmas Card stamps.  Yup, they are addressed and ready to go.  Bring it holidays.

This weekend, my nephew is supposed to come spend the night with me.  He’s coming to bake Christmas cookies and spend the night so he can have chocolate chip pancakes Sunday morning.  I may take him to church with me, since it is the first Sunday of Advent.  We’ll see if he is awake in time.  I’m looking forward to spending time with my boy.

Oh, and niece is ready to go just about any time.  The doctors pretty much told her that if she goes into labor by herself at this point, they won’t try to stop it.  She’s nearly 36 weeks, and the baby is considered full term.  Can’t wait to meet this little one.  (And still secretly hoping for a girl child – but will love whatever the vending machine pops out!).

So, that’s what’s happening around here.  Let’s bring on the holidays folks.  Bring. It.

Leave a Reply

