Moving Right Along

I seriously can’t keep up with posts.  I think, “Oh…I should blog about this…” and then my brain goes blank.

So, last Wednesday, I rode down to my niece and her hubby’s house to spend the night because bright and early on Thursday morning, I got to go with them to see PEANUT!!!  YAYAY!  It was her last ultrasound before Peanut will make his/her arrival.

Oh my goodness.

Peanut can’t be called Peanut ANYMORE.  More like Chunk…or Linebacker…or Holy Moly!  Estimated weight is 6.1 pounds.  Already.  That was last week.  My niece, needless to say, looked a wee bit worried.  I was laughing.  The baby’s daddy weighed in at over 10 when he was born, and my niece was three weeks early (confirmed by the fact that her fingerprints hadn’t yet developed fully) and weighed in at 8 pounds 6 oz.  Did she really think she was going to have a tiny baby?

The pictures were awesome.  The baby is already a genius…practicing breathing like a champ.  Also, head is way down, and booty is way up.  Not much room left for Peanut.  Peanut’s little face was all smushed up against Sarah in the 3D pics, but that baby has my niece’s nose, no question.  Cute little up-turned nose.  And her lips.  Little rosebud lips.  Oh my heart.  My niece thinks Peanut looks like her husband.  I think it’s too early to tell.  All I saw were cheeks.  SUCH CUTE CHEEKS.

The doctor came in and spoke with us and told us at the baby’s growth rate, she can expect a baby over 9 pounds.  My niece got a very worried look, and said, “So, you’ll take me early?”  Doc said, (and yay for this doctor for saying so), “No, I don’t do that.  Women go into labor for a reason.  It means the baby is ready.  The only time I’d take you sooner is if you have a medical reason.  Here, there is none.”  Blood pressure is amazing, glucose is spot on.  My niece isn’t even swelling in her ankles.  She doesn’t pregnancy pretty darned good.

So, we haven’t moved her due date – she’s still due on 12/30.  They originally said they weren’t going to let her go past the 30th, but now, they have changed their minds.  She will go when she goes.  I have also opted not to be in the delivery room.  I think it’s too many people and don’t want to stress them out.  So, I will stay home until Peanut arrives.

And yes, I did try to peek and see if it was a boy or a girl, but at this stage, there is no way to tell.  Peanut was all curled up because he/she is out of room.

I can not wait to meet that baby.  Can. Not. Wait.

Leave a Reply

