Results Are In…

There comes a point in a cancer patient’s post treatment world where you have to look at yourself and say, “Ok, this is not from chemo anymore…something else must be wrong.”

I’ve had issue with fatigue and anxiety for a while now, and since I completed chemo 18 months ago, my primary care looked long and hard at my bloodwork and thought I may have an issue with anemia and my thyroid.

I had some more bloodwork done a week or so ago, and the results are in…

Not anemic.

This was the big one for me, because unexplained anemia for a cancer patient is scary. My iron and B12 levels were good (that leads to post gastric bypass anemia) so the doctor was concerned. Turns out, my levels are 11.4 – right where they are supposed to be. Phew.

My thyroid tests came back as overactive. Sypmtoms of overactive thyroid are fatigue and anxiety.

So, he’s referred me to an endocrinologist.

I have chosen to go to an endo I saw way back in 1999 and 2000. He is well respected around here, and hopefully can determine the best course of action for my thyroid.

Anyone have experience with overactive thyroid and treatment? I’ve heard it could be the result of radiation, but I was not radiated there.

One thought on “Results Are In…

Leave a Reply

