I Feel Like a Milk Shake

Something has been “not quite right” with me for a little over a month now. I haven’t blogged about because I had attributed it to the stupid knee surgery that is still making my life a pain. I’ve had extreme fatigue, and my muscles have been weak and I’ve gotten the shakes. It usually happens during a long day and I’m really tired.

Thousands of things have gone thorugh my head…from Parkinsons, to the cancer returning. I thought perhaps I was anemic again, and started taking iron and B-complex. I don’t know if that has helped yet. Quite honesly, I have been a bit freaked out.

And then, this morning, in the shower, it dawned on me.

I’ve been doing Weight Watchers since January. It has done MANY wonderful things for me. I’ve lost my “cancer” weight (I put on 30 pounds during my treatment) and I’m back under 200 pounds for the first time in a couple of years. I’m back to eating healthy things, but am able to balance in treats here and there. The BEST thing about Weight Watchers is it has reminded me how to eat…for the most part. My pouch has been reminded of what it can do. Sadly, my brain has not adjusted itself as much as I would like to think.

As a bariatric patient, I need to get between 60 and 100 grams of protein a day. My body needs it to stay strong, and work correctly. I don’t think I’ve been getting anywhere near that.

My plan is to up my protein by adding shakes back in. I don’t do pre-made shakes – they taste horrible. I use whey protein powder, mixed with skim milk, and fruit. If I do one of those a day, it boosts me up and keeps me going. And it tastes a lot better than the pre-made shakes. I also have to remember my bariatric rules – no drinking while I eat. When I eat, protein first, then fruits and veg, and THEN carbs. My body already tells me when I eat something I shouldn’t. Now I just have to remember how to do it.

In other news, I have an appointment with the oncologist today. The radiation oncologist. Just a check-up. I’ll bring things up with him to get his opinion. Also, I will be asking him about the swelling in my ankles. I have had it since surgery, but can’t attribute it to the surgery, because it’s in both legs. My cardiologist says I have a drainage problem due to my lack of lymph nodes. Hopefully he can give me a fluid pill.

It’s always something.

One thought on “I Feel Like a Milk Shake

  1. I hope your appointment goes well today and you are able to get something to help with your ankles. I’ve started Weight Watchers too. Your shakes sound good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

