Great Insurance

As a cancer patient (who will forever be a cancer patient, remission or not) and I can not tell you how thankful I am for insurance. Cancer patients in Delaware do not have to pay for their first year of treatments. Too bad I lived in MD when I was diagnosed.

Now, I’m not going through treatments, but the treatments left a lot of nastiness behind. The treatments are what ate away the rest of the cartilage in my knee. Treatments have caused a huge amount of atrophe and “shrinkage” in the ladybits which have required additional treatment and believe it or not, physical therapy. Plus, I have follow-ups from oncology, and my usual six month cardiologist checks to ensure the ticker is still working in great order after the heart attack in 2003 (nearly 11 years ago!).

All of this cost money. Now, I don’t know about you, but I haven’t got a money tree in my back yard (but wouldn’t THAT be awesome). Thankfully, I have insurance. Now, not that Anthem BlueCross BlueShield is in anyway user friendly (see a few of my posts prior to my knee surgery) but it does pay for great things.

Leave a Reply

