Sad News

For those of you who know me, you know I’m a huge advocate of animal rescue. Both of my dogs, and all but one of my kitties have been rescue pets. I am a firm believer in adopting, not shopping.

I am also a giant fan of Swamp People. LOVE LOVE LOVE that show. I wanna get a .22 and go CHOOT ‘EM!

I know, I’m also weird.

So, I saw some sad news today in my Facebook Feed. I follow a few of the Swamp People on Facebook, especially the feed of Bruce Mitchell. If you haven’t watched the show, this is Bruce.  Bruce hunted alone on the show for the first few seasons that History filmed, except for his constant companion, Tyler.

 Picture

Photo Credit:  http://brucethealligatorman.com/

 
Tyler loved to go hunting with his Daddy, and he loved to lick the alligators’ heads when Bruce pulled them into his boat.  Tyler loved to hunt and fish with Bruce, and Bruce would always give Tyler a Zebra Cake.  At the beginning of this season, Bruce had initially determined it too dangerous for the now 13 year old Tyler to go fishing, but after the first few days, Bruce changed his mind and took Tyler out.
 
It was with great sadness that I learned Tyler passed away this morning.  There are outpourings of love and support on Bruce’s website and Facebook pages for Tyler, including the shelter that Tyler was adopted from.
 
Tyler was a shelter dog, who lucked himself into a wonderful home.  It’s stories like Tyler’s that make my heart smile.
 
Rest in peace, sweet boy.  There are lots of gators to hunt at the Rainbow Bridge, and an endless supply of zebra cakes.
 
Leave a Reply

