Mini-Spring Break and our Big Colorado Trip Next Month

Between work and physical therapy, I have been so busy lately I’ve barely had time to tie my own shoes! Sorry for the lack of posts.

We are going to Virginia this weekend to spend Easter with our friends in the Campground. I’m so looking forward to it. This has been a stressful week all around and I need a bit of a break.

On top of the work and therapy appointments, I have been worried about my in-laws. My Father-In-Law was ill a few weeks back. He’s home and being whipped into shape by my mother-in-law, but we were a little worried at the time. Then, last week my husband gets a call from his sister – she fell at work and broke her hip. She has three screws in it. She’s in a rehab facility now and is doing better. She says she does ok as long as she doesn’t over do it. Poor thing. And THEN…her hubby went in on Tuesday for a scheduled hip replacement. UGH. They will be rehabbing at the same facility for a week or so, and then they will go to their son’s house to recouperate. My sister-in-law is only in her early 50s. Her husband is in his 60s. From what I saw when my mom had her knee replaced, the hip replacement is a fairly easy surgery to recover from now – minimal incisions and the hip is not load-bearing. My mom’s friend was back teaching her exercise class in just two weeks.

Bob and I are now just a month away from our trip to Colorado to visit with his family. We are both quite excited. It will be nice to see the family and go to the reunion in Sterling, which is always a fun time. We are even MORE excited about the food. LOL This will be the first trip back since 2012. We are planning our trip by the restaurant. We get in on Wednesday, May 21st at about 4pm. We’ll head over and pick up the car, and then we are going right to Commerce City to pick up my husband’s Aunt and Uncle. Then we are going to our FAVORITE Mexican place in the world, Casa Del Rey.  They have the best food, and the chicharones are amazing.  I plan on getting a big giant place of carne asada.  YUM.  From dinner, we’ll head up to Greeley and spend the night with my mother and father-in-law.  We’ll probably drop the minute we get there from the two hour time difference and the travel.

Thursday morning, we’ll get up early (we are still two hours ahead of everyone else) and head to Wally-World to stock up on supplies for the week.  We’ll stop at Cisneros.  They make the BEST breakfast burritos ever.  EVER.  Potato and egg with green chili…OMG.  It’s big enough that I’ll split mine with my Mother-In-Law.  OH SO GOOD.  We’ll head back to the in-laws for a while, and then we are going to go up to Estes Park for the day.

Estes Park is one of my most favorite places in the world.  I love to go visit the Stanley Hotel, and I love to drive around Rocky Mountain National Park and watch the elk.  Just gorgeous.  We’ll spend the afternoon there, and then come back down and make a quick side trip to Fort Collins to go to Whole Foods and the liquor store.  Then, we are headed off to the great city of Pierce, Colorado.  We’re going to stay with another aunt and uncle in Pierce.  We’re hoping his aunt makes her famous red chili, and uses it to top some bean burritos!

We are heading up to Cheyenne, WY for the day on Friday, and then Saturday morning, we’ll head east to Sterling.  We’ll stop in at the reunion headquarters (another Aunt and Uncle) to say hi, and then we’ll head out to Julesburg, CO to pay our respects to Bob’s family.  From Julesburg, we’ll head up to Oshkosh, NE where Bob will visit his old stomping grounds.  Then we’ll head over to Chappell and get some Rocky Mountain Oysters  (yes, they ARE what you think they are).  Then back to Sterling to check into the hotel, grab a nap and visit with the family.  We’ll stay in Sterling for the weekend.

Monday, we’ll head back west, try to get a visit in with my sister-in-law at her new home, and then probably back to Pierce for the night and a Memorial Day BBQ.  Tuesday, I’m not sure what the plan is, other than heading back to Denver for the night.  We’ll probably spend the day making the rounds and saying good-bye to folks.  Then it’s back to Commerce City for the night, and we leave the next day.

I’m so glad we can make this trip this year.  Last year we were tied up with Cancer, and the year before, we just didn’t have the money to go.  I just love my husband’s family and can’t wait for our visit.

2 thoughts on “Mini-Spring Break and our Big Colorado Trip Next Month

    • As a matter of fact, my brother-in-law is moving to Dallas next week so we are planning a trip early next year. Luckily my in-laws are from a big mexican family, so I will stuff myself on some great stuff in Colorado!

Leave a Reply

