30 Days Out

Today is one month since knee surgery. I saw the ortho yesterday. He says the knee is healing well…minimal swelling on the sides of the knee. Most of the swelling is centered on the knee cap. The first thing out of his mouth was that I am still going to need a total knee replacement, but with this surgery, he thinks that he may have bought me 3 to 5 years. I’ll take it.

I have a slight rash on the leg from the stupid immobilizer, but as of yesterday, the immobilizer is history! Wooo Hooo! In fact, they three it away! I am now in a hinged knee brace, and I’m allowed to put weight on the leg. I’m weaning slowly off the crutches, but I have no strength in the leg at all. And now that I don’t have the solid support of the immobilizer, walking is not the easiest thing.

So, he also decided to try and bend my leg yesterday. HAHAHAHAHAHAHA ow. The first try, nada. Maybe 15 degress Range of Motion (ROM). The second time, I bit my tongue and we got to 30. I start PT tomorrow – gentle ROM exercises. No lunges, no squats. No running ever again. No kneeling for two years.

I’m hoping to go back into the office next week, but we’ll see how strong my leg is. I’m really hoping to get back to the office. I love the ability of working from home, and am thrilled that my boss and company allow me the flexibility to do so. I had such issues with it when I worked in Baltimore. But I’m ready to get back to regular routine, and back into the office.

I have an appointment with my oncologist tomorrow. Doing my usual pre-appointment freak out. NO WHAMMIES NO WHAMMIES NO CANCER!

2 thoughts on “30 Days Out

Leave a Reply

