Pre-Op is Rounding The Final Corner

Yesterday, we were off because of the President’s Day holiday, so I took advantage of it to get a lot of my pre-op done. I got up early, headed to my new doctor’s office to drop off my consent for them to obtain my medical records from my old doctor, and then Bob and I headed down to MD to finish up the pre-op process. First stop, the hospital.

I went to the hospital to complete my EKG, Chest X-ray and blood work. I am amazed because I usually get folks who have to dig around for a good vein, but the girl listened to me yesterday. I told her where to look, and where to aim for, and she got it on the first stick. YAY!

I finished up my chest x-ray and EKG in record time, so before my next appointment, Bob and I got to go to our favorite sushi restaurant for lunch. I blew the remainder of my weekly points, but it was so worth it.

After lunch, we headed to Target so I could pick up a prescription. Hopefully, that will be the last one that gets filled down there. I had to wait (of course), so Bob went over to our house to check it with all the snow we’ve had. Thankfully, there were no issues. He picked me up, and we still had time before my 2:00, so we went to Walmart to get some craft supplies for me and a new printer cartridge.

Then I headed to my doctor for my pre-op clearance. The appointment went fine, but he grabbed a hold of my knee and I about shot off the table. “Oh, does that hurt?” Nope…having surgery because I have nothing else to do.

Sigh.

Then he asked about my medical history, and he actually says to me, “You don’t have any history of cancer in your family, do you?” I swear I had to put my eyeballs back in my head. I said, “You mean besides mine?” Oh, yeah…he forgot. Sigh. Plus, there was my dad’s colon cancer, my oldest sister’s ovarian cancer, my older sister’s colon cancer, and my Mom’s chronic leukemia. Nope, not much cancer history there. Sigh.

At any rate, he cleared me for surgery. After that appointment, we headed over to the grocery store to get some lunchmeat for the week and some diet root beers (I’ve had a craving). We hit the post office and then headed back to DE. We got home probably around 4 after leaving the house at 9am. Long day.

This afternoon, I am headed to the cardiologist for my cardiac clearance, and there will be nothing more but to wait.

7 more days after today. I am so ready to get this over with.

One thought on “Pre-Op is Rounding The Final Corner

Leave a Reply

