Plugging Along

Sadly, I still can not disclose any information on our (fingers crossed) good news…thanks to a long weekend and now a snow day that has shut down government, I’m sure we won’t hear anything until later this week. But please, continue to send some good juju our way. We could use it. And no, I’m not pregnant. Not adopting. Just some good news finally coming our way. πŸ™‚

So, this weekend, I decided to bite the bullet and change my eTools membership with Weight Watchers to an actual in person Monthly Pass. I got up Saturday morning, bright and early, and took myself to my first meeting in I don’t know how long. Since before gastric bypass. I am still up from the cancer diagnosis, but I enjoyed the meeting, and honestly, the Simple Start program is easy peasy – no counting, no special food…just eat from a list of “approved foods” and add in an indulgence once in a while (you can count up to 7 points per day) and it is something I’m loving because I don’t like thinking about it. The recipes are pretty good as well, although I’m twisting them my own way with seasonings and flavors. We’ll see how it all comes out this Saturday at my first “official” weigh in.

It’s snowing here. Again. This has been the worst freaking winter. Normally I really don’t mind the snow all that much, and I do have the ability to work from home as I need to now without an act of God from my supervisor and a guilt trip from hell. I was supposed to work from home today anyway, as I had a dentist appointment this morning, so hey, it worked out. I really don’t like the cold or snow because of what it is doing to my knee and other assorted arthritic joints.

That kinds of leads me into my next bit of news. Surgery is 100% in my future. I saw my ortho yesterday for a knee check. He told me that the amount of damage in my left knee is extensive, and this time around, he can not even guarantee he can do a de novo graft (the surgery I had on my right leg in 2011). He thinks the damage to the underside of the knee cap (where he would graft the new cells) might be too much to guarantee adhesion. We discussed other options…the one that frequently came out of his mouth was full knee replacement. OK, folks, this freaks me the hell out. First, I’m only 41. Which means without a doubt, I will have to put myself in this position again in 20 to 25 years if I get the full knee. It’s a big surgery, and my system isn’t making me any guarantees between the diabetes and the cancer. Additionally, due to my age, getting my insurance to pay for a full knee replacement now might be a crap shoot. I told him this option was the LEAST appealing option to me.

We also discussed doing another scope and clean out, and when he does that, he’ll realign my knee cap. The whole reason I’m having issues with this knee was not because I was over weight (although that had a lot to do with the EXTENT of damage) but because I disclocated my knee in highschool. It was never properly set. Five years ago, I had a microfracture on this knee, and a lateral release done on the knee cap to move it from the side of my leg back to the center. In the past five years, the knee cap has become like Mae West…she used to be Snow White, but she drifted. This sugery is 100% in my future at the very least.

Finally, we talked about trying the de novo graft (they graft young cartlidge cells to the back of my knee cap to encourage new growth). He’s IS willing to try it because I told him I didn’t want to hobble around for the next 20 years, or dive right into a total knee replacement without exhausting everything else first. What he did tell me was that he’s ordered an MRI, and if he gets in the knee, and doesn’t like what he sees, he won’t try it.

Many people would ask why I would pick the de novo over the total knee replacement. Honestly, the total knee replacement is an easier surgery. I’d be up and around that day walking on the knee. It’s not a difficult recovery. But it is a shock to the system, and knee replacements only last 20 to 25 years max now. I don’t want to do this all over again if I don’t have to. The de novo graft is an outpatient sugery, but the recovery sucks. It’s very painful, and I will not be able to bear weight at all on my knee for 8 to 10 weeks. Also, I will be in an immobilizer for 8 to 10 weeks, which means when my knee is ready for PT, it is horrible. But, the sugery can PUT OFF a knee replacement for 15 to 20 years, which buys me a lot of time if it is successful. And that’s what I’m counting on.

So, I see the doctor again in two weeks, and he’ll have my MRI results then, and I think then we’ll figure out what the road map to this is. I can’t keep going on like this – he knows he has to do something, because it is affecting my ankles, my back, and my hips. And hip pain scares the blue purple bejesus out of me since it is what led to my cancer diagnosis.

So, send good thoughts that I can get a de novo done…I’d appreciate it. And keep swinging those chickens for our other good news. πŸ˜‰

And wish me sanity between now and the Superbowl. The Broncos are in and my husband is riding high. Me, I’m annoyed that my team was one and done and am protesting football until pre-season next August. GO IGGLES!

3 thoughts on “Plugging Along

Leave a Reply

