Not The Way I Wanted to Start The Year

Last weekend we drove down to Mechanicsville (3.5 hours away) to watch my grandkids while my step-daughter and her hubby attended to bereavement duties after TJ’s dad unexpectedly passed away the Sunday after Christmas. 

Things were fine on Friday, but Jessie woke up Saturday with an upset stomach.  We all just figured it was from stress, but after they got back from the burial, Jess still felt crappy.  We all went to the Moose for  “celebration” of Mike’s life.  We had lunch, hugged the family, gave our condolences to TJ’s mom, and headed out.

By the time we got home, I fixed myself a salad for dinner, ate a bit of it, but my stomach decided it was a no-go.  I didn’t think anything if it as this happens after bypass.

The next morning, Bob woke up with nausea and diarrhea.  This happens everytime we go to Jessica’s.  We are starting to call her Typhoid Mary.  By the end of the day I was feeling horrible myself…nausea, fever, migraine…I figured we had both caught Jessica’s bug.

Bob was better yesterday.  I wasn’t.  My temp rose to over 103.  I had him take me to the Medical Aid unit.  They evaluated my symptoms, and said, “It is probably strep.”  I said, “But I don’t have a sore throat.”  Apparently you don’t need to.  Strep test came back positive.  Anti-biotics, pain killers and zofran.

I kid you not, I didn’t feel this bad when I was having cancer treatments.

Leave a Reply

