It Just Dawned On Me

Today is my sister’s birthday.  She would have been 55 today.

My sister’s battle with Ovarian Cancer ended in February of 1999.  She was 41 years old.  She was diagnosed in October 1998, in remission by December 1998, and dead by February 23, 1999.  Treatment for cancer of the lady parts has come a long way since then.  I thank God it has.

Betsy was a one of a kind.  Beautiful, intelligent, and she had a laugh that could light up a room…loud and high pitched and happy.  My sister loved the beach.  My sister loved agriculture.  She loved Neil Diamond, Carley Simon, George Thorogood, and her kids (not necessarily in that order).  She had laughing brown eyes, and frizzy hair that she let me play with when I was little.  She loved chocolate.  She vaccuumed obsessively. 

I will be 41 next month.  The same age she was when she got her diagnosis and subsequently passed away.  I am alive today in part because of the research techniques they launched during my sister’s illness.

Today, I honor my sister’s memory.  I honor all those who have gone before me into this elite club called “Cancer Survivor.”

Happy Birthday Bets.  Love you.  Miss you.  Every single day.

2 thoughts on “It Just Dawned On Me

Leave a Reply

