Walking On Sunshine!

Sorry I have been absent.  Many things have been brewing, and everything came to a head in the past couple of weeks, and I’ve been hard at work on making that happen.

If you’ve been following my blog, you know that we moved in with my Mom in April – making the move from Maryland to Delaware.  What this meant for me was a 2.5 hour commute each way via car, then train, then bus to work.  For a job that had become to me way less than rewarding.  In May, I applied on a whim for a job still with the same company, but in a different division.  It was a promotion, and the job was located 20 minutes from my house.  I didn’t think I stood a chance at first, but what they heck?

It was a surprise to me when the executive recruiter called me in May to set up what became a series of six interviews that spanned two months.  And last week, this job that initially seemed incredibly interesting and rewarding but oh so out of reach…well, it became mine.

I got the job.

So, now, in a whirlwind, I am winding down my current position to transfer back to Wilmington.  I got a big promotion, and am being compensated very well.  My title is incredibly long and important sounding now, although the job may not be.  I’ll be working as a liaison with the regulators to gather exam deliverables, follow up with the business, and resolve any issues that are found in the review.  It will be a very busy job, and a very big responsibility.  And I’m very excited to finally be appreciated somewhat for my talents.

Healthwise, I’m doing well,  I’m starting to feel myself again, but still exhausted at day’s end.  I’d attribute that to work and my commute, but it happens on my days off as well.  The chemo that coursed through my veins has left a long and lasting impression.

My hair has come back in, and is even MORE curly than it was before it fell out.  Holy shit the curls.  My hair has been very short in the past and was pretty straight when it was this length, but now, no way – no amount of product can get this hair to calm down.  I’m loving having hair, but wow oh wow.

I’m working from home today, and then when we are sprung for the holiday, my honey and I will be traveling to our little cabin in VA to celebrate.  Happy Fourth of July everyone (and a belated Happy Canada Day to my Canadian readers)!

One thought on “Walking On Sunshine!

Leave a Reply

