Two To Go And How I’m Getting Through

Tomorrow is my 2nd to last chemo.  I’m glad I’m nearing the end, but I’m not looking forward to the mining job the girls will have to do on my arms tomorrow to find a useful vein.  Sigh.

I got out of the house yesterday for a much-needed outing with other adults and grown people.  My sister’s birthday was yesterday, so I met her, my mom and my niece at Woody’s Crab House in North East for lunch and then we did a little bit of shopping.  It was sooooo nice getting out of the house for a while, and as attentive and loving as my husband has been, it was nice getting away from him for a little while as well.

We gave my sister her presents.  I couldn’t get out to shop, so I gave her a $20 Dunkin’ Donut card.  She loves their coffee and stops every day on her way to work for a cup, so she was happy with it.  My mom and sister gave her charms for her Pandora bracelet.  Then she gave me a care package for my upcoming chemo.  She gave me a Captain Quint’s Shark Tours T-shirt (we LOVE the movie Jaws and watch it frequently when we are down in Virginia camping), a Cape May, New Jersey thimble for my thimble collection, a magnet, and a new Pandora charm.

Lunch was delicious.  I had fish tacos.  And Maryland Crab Soup.  And it was wonderful.  Of course, I could only eat about half of one taco, so I brought the rest home (silly small stomach!).  I will eat the rest for lunch today.  We meandered around town a bit, and went to the coffee shop next door to the restaurant.  I got some new tea and a cup of chocolate cherry coffee with my sister.

After we got done there, we went over to the local store that sells Pandora (all four of us have bracelets).  I had said a while ago that when I was done chemo, I was going to treat myself to a Pandora ring.  Well, I went ahead and got it yesterday – and I love love love it.

bling

I purchased my bracelet when I got news I was in remission (and it’s now nearly full!!!) and I just love their stuff.  The ring is so pretty.  🙂   My sister bought me, my mom and my niece all new charms for Valentine’s Day – the red bead with pink hearts.  One day, I’ll have to take a picture of my bracelet – I have room for two more charms I think.  I plan on buying some of the leather bracelets next.  I know – I’m hooked.

My dog gave me a great laugh yesterday.  I asked Bob to run the vacuum cleaner while I was out and he got it out as I was getting ready to go.  Mia the Wonder Pup HATES the vacuum and feels the need to protect me from it.  This was her growling at it yesterday before I left:

grrrrrr

Check out them teefers.  Big bad dog.

I’m a bit sad this year.  Today is Superbowl Sunday, and every year for the past ten years, we have hosted the local Superbowl fiesta.  This year, it’s a no go, and I know my honey is a little sad that he can’t watch the Superbowl with his buddies.  We are actually a bit relieved though, because neither of us are Ravens fans (we HATE the Ravens – he is a Broncos fan and I am a Philadelphia Eagles fan) and we are rooting for the 49ers to win.  Our friends, however, ARE Ravens fans.  And are a bit annoying about it.  I can’t route for a team who hero worships Ray Lewis – a man who claims to be so Godly, and yet he’s had six kids with four different women, none of whom he married; has been accused of taking performance enhancing drugs; oh, and there was that whole murder thing….nope, not a fan.

So, tonight, I’ll curl up on the sofa with my honey.  We’ll watch a bit of the game, but at 9, we’re switching over to Downton Abbey.  And I’ll try not to think of chemo tomorrow.

Oh, and I decided I’m making myself an Eagles Afghan.  I went and got the yarn this morning.  I’m starting that today.

Pointless post is pointless.  🙂

Leave a Reply

