Feeling a Wee Bit Better (No Pun Intended)

I’m finally feeling better from chemo last week.  I had a low grade migraine for six days and it finally went away last night.  My nether regions are still sore and painful but the ointment they gave me for burns is starting to help.  My joints are achey and sore, but better.  In fact, I feel good enough today to knit.

I went to Labcorp this morning for my weekly blood work.  I will never go to that Labcorp again.  I hate them, but they are tied into the UMMC computer system so the doctor gets my results today.  The girls in Havre de Grace were surly and had no system at all to calling people back.  They were taking people out of order, and grumpy, and even though I told the girl who took my blood that I am a hard stick now, she still dug around.  I told her in no uncertain terms that the needle wasn’t to enter my arm until she found a vein, and if she couldn’t find one, then either get a supervisor or someone else.  She found a vein (in the arm I had chemo in last week which is still sore) but stuck the needle in too far, couldn’t get a draw, and then had to fish around for a minute until she finally found one.  I was not pleased.  She asked me to fill out a survey.  I did, and won’t return to that one.  I will drive the extra 15 minutes to the one in Bel Air.  I hate feeling like a pin cushion.

What’s weird is that my veins used to stand up and sing before I got diagnosed.  Chemo is hard on your veins.  Really hard.  I’ve only had four treatments and mine are already saying, “Nope, no more, don’t want.”  I could get a port, but it’s outpatient surgery and well, I’m over being cut on.  I have two more chemos left, so it hardly seems worth it.  I’ll have to deal with the digging.

Today, I’m going to enjoy some quiet time with me and my knitting needles.  I have a bajillion WIPs (Works-In-Progress) but I’m feeling like knitting on some socks.  So, it’s time to add to my WIP pile.  🙂

 

One thought on “Feeling a Wee Bit Better (No Pun Intended)

  1. Know here you’re coming from about the pin cushion thing. I used to have a phobia of needles. Then I had back problems and it was pretty clear surgery was coming. A few months later with a psychologist and I was OK with getting my blood drawn (don’t actually know what he did, we just talked for numerous weeks, then it was fine). I was more scared of the IV for the back surgery tan the surgery! But all went well. Little did I know this would be great prep for my cancer situation. All these people want is blood and more blood!

Leave a Reply

