The Holidays

Christmas is usually a big rush of running around for me.  Shopping, baking, knitting, crafting, etc.  It’s always a whirlwind of activity.  And although I complain every year about it, I deep down secretly enjoy it.  I love being able to make things for people that are conceived in love with my heart.  Picking just the right thing.

But this  year, well, this year has been hard.  I’ve no energy (thanks radiation) and I quite honestly going to the bathroom all the time.  But I did get our Christmas shopping done (I need to send a gift to my mother-in-law, but that’s always cash).  I didn’t buy as much, or make as much, and I sure as heck haven’t baked much this year, but for some reason, the Christmas spirit if kind of strong.

Perhaps it is because I’m alive.  I’m here.  I can watch my grandbabies share another Christmas with me.  And that is really, deep down, the true spirit of Christmas, is it not?

We don’t have huge plans.  Tonight, we are going to bundle up and pack up the dog and take a ride to look at Christmas lights (something we’ve done every year).  I may bake some snickerdoodles and some chocolate chip cookies, but nothing more than that today.  I’m wrapping the presents we did buy.  Next weekend we are going to my step-daughter’s.  We bought Brae’s big gift this year and she can’t wait for us to give it to her.  A rainbow unicorn dreamlite.  Oh boy.  I can’t wait to snuggle my baby girls in my arms and give them much love and kisses.

Christmas eve we are heading to my Mom’s to spend the night.  Christmas day is first and formost my mother’s birthday.  She’s going to be 76 this year.  How did that happen?  When did my mom get old?  I plan on giving her a special day – homemade biscuits for breakfast and shrimp and lobster for dinner.  She deserves it – this year has been hard for her.

Sometime I hope to see my other step-daughter Kelly while we’re off.  They live in Indiana.  I’m hoping they come out and we can spend some time with them.

A quiet year to end what has been quite a year.

But I’m alive, and I am surrounded by my loved ones.  And that, my friends, is what Christmas is all about.

Happy holidays to you and yours.  May God bless and keep you on your journey.

Leave a Reply

