Insurance and Elections

So, it seems every single time I turn around, I have another medical bill to pay, and I am thankful that I have a job that allows me insurance, and a flexible spending account (which was maxed a month or so ago).  My bills are a 10% co-pay of what the total bill is after insurance, but still, $30 here, $28 there, $1600 now, $15 then, well, they add up.  So much so, in fact, that when I recieved my latest EOB from Blue Cross, I had reached my $3,000 out of pocket maximum for the year.  And that was as of my first chemo in September.

That means that I won’t have to pay for the chemo or radiation treatments between now and the end of the year.

Phew.  Because one chemo treatment is $800.  I don’t even want to see what they charge for radiation.

I go back to work next week.  Until the end of the year, anyway.  I will have to pay $500 as a deductible next year before my co-pays kick in, but one chemo treatment will cover that.  I have already elected to put $2,000 in our flexible spending account for next year, so when the first bill comes, I can just pay it without having to wonder, ZOMG where am I going to get that cash??

This morning I went and had my bloodwork done that was actually due two days ago.  Labcorps were closed from Virginia to NY through yesterday, so my oncologist had a heads up my bloodwork would be late.  On the way home, I stopped by the Harford County Early Polling facility and exercised my consititutional right to vote.  I am unabashedly Democrat, and with our medical bills this year, I proudly voted democratic again.  I also voted “No” on the question of allowing expanded gambling in Maryland (we have enough traffic going into Baltimore, don’t need gambling traffic as well) and “Yes” to Question 6 which legalizes Same Sex Marriages in the state.

So there.  Now you know.  I’m a big old Dem.

My husband is a big old GOP.  I have to vote to cancel his out.  😉

I chose to vote early because I’m sure by the end of my working day next Tuesday, I’ll be exhausted and won’t want to stop on the way home after a 12 hour day that included radiation.  I tried to vote this past Saturday, when early voting opened, but lines were out to the road.  I always feel so accomplished after I’ve voted.

Now, since it is Wednesday, and I have to go to work like a big girl next week, I am getting the job done of getting things done before I go back.  This morning I paid bills and will hit the grocery store.  Tomorrow, I’ll do a little cleaning and finish that Friday.  Saturday I am going up to DE to have dinner with my Mom and then Sunday, I will rest and get ready for the work week.

We are resuming our regular lives now that Sandy has gone.  Well, as normal as it can be for a person undergoing cancer treatments.

One thought on “Insurance and Elections

  1. Good for you for being a big old Dem! I live in the UK so the idea of getting a bill for my cancer treatment is so alien, it sounds like such an additional worry even with insurance. I hope going back to work goes well and you’re not too tired. Do people there know why you’ve been off? I am debating going back at the moment but weekly chemo makes it tricky. Best wishes, Linsey x

Leave a Reply

