Chemo Is A Lot Like A Roller Coaster Only Without the “Yay! Rollercoaster!” Part

The past three days have in no way shape or form been something I would call “woo hoo fun.”  Tuesday I woke up feeling like crap.  The nauseau was held nicely at bay with Zofran and Compazine, but I felt like crap.  I don’t know exactly how to describe it other than, well, yucky.

I was warned ahead of time that Wednesday would be worse than Tuesday.  And they were not wrong.  Again, nauseau held at bay with drugs, but I felt as if I’d been run over by a series of trash trucks.  Evil bastard trash trucks.  UGH.  Last night, I actually did have an appetite again, and my husband did go out and get pizza for dinner (I did WANT pizza).  But then the aches and pains set in, and the horrible sore throat.

Today I felt ok.  I mean, ok as if I’d turned a corner ok.  But now I feel as if I have a cold.  I’m blowing yellow snot constantly, and I still have a bit of a sore throat.  I have a headache, but I feel OK.  Of course, we naturally called the doctor because we weren’t sure if the cold symptoms were normal or if they were something in which we should go, “OMG SHE HAS A COLD HEAD TO THE NEAREST ER!!”

My oncologist is a saint.  He didn’t act like we were nuts.  He got on the phone himself.  And told me that this horrible sinus infection/allergy/cold thing is absolutely normal.  And to be expected.  Because the chemo is killing everything.  He told me to take a decongestant and an antihistamine, and he promised I would start feeling better soon.  And to keep an eye on my temparature, becuase if that went up over 100.5, I was to OMG HEAD TO THE ER IMMEDIATELY.

I don’t feel better, but he did promise.  I also haven’t got a temp.

Other things that are kind of sucky is that I have this nasty ass taste in my mouth.  Can’t pin point it, but it’s like I’m chewing on rubber bands.  Not good.

But the worst part…the absolute worst part is the constipation.  Oh holy hell.  Seriously, if it isn’t bad enough that I’ve had to go through major surgery, followed by OMG I HAVE CANCER and then the hell of chemo, did we have to throw in the joys of constipation?  Miralax has been prescribed.

And today, the day I was going to nap?  The phone has run all. day. long.

I have to start feeling better soon.  Right?

RIGHT?

UGH.

3 thoughts on “Chemo Is A Lot Like A Roller Coaster Only Without the “Yay! Rollercoaster!” Part

Leave a Reply

