Is It Hot In Here, or Is It Just Me?

One of the side effects of having a total radical hystorectomy, is that you go into surgically induced menopause.  They tell you it is immediate, and they aren’t kidding.

I think the worst part (aside from being emotional, but I count an “out” on that part) are the night sweats.  Night sweats are horrible.  Just all of a sudden drenched in sweat.  Not hot, just sweaty.  HOLY SWEATY.  Yuck.

Hot flashes are also fun.  My husband is made of win.  He has rigged up a small fan right night so my side of the “recouperating sofa” and when a flash hits, I hit the switch on that fan and blow myself away.  It wouldn’t be so bad if it were winter, but since it is still Mid-Atlantic summer (9,000 degrees and 1000% humidity), it’s horrible.

I haven’t really experienced any of the other symptoms of menopause.  Like I said, I have been emotional, but that also ties to having major surgery, and probably a cancer diagnosis throws it in as well.

All that research I did on the black cohosh was for naught.  My surgical oncologist has asked me not to take it, because they don’t know enough about how it can affect the cancer cells and my upcoming treatments.  They did recommend upping my vitamin intake (more vitamin?  really?) and doubling my b12 dosage.  I haven’t tried it yet, but I may start this week.

In other news, I am recovering well from surgery.  My incision is healing nicely, although it isn’t pretty.  I am down to just controling my pain with tylenol.  I had to put the prescription stuff aside because it binds you up.  The constipation is not something fun to deal with when you’ve had all your abdominal muscles cut and pushed around.  OY.

In other news, the surgery has reminded my bypass pouch of how it is supposed to work.  I’m back to being able to eat the portions I was eating the first year out of surgery.  1/2 c to 3/4 of a c at a meal.  Unfortunately, this is also not good for someone about to go through chemo.  They are trying to boost my nutrition now so that I’m in the best shape I can be before I start treatment.  I’m upping my protein, trying to eat six meals per day (albeit small), and I’m back on my protein shakes.  Bob is terrified that I’m not eating enough.  My weight is starting to drop again, but I had gained 20 pounds before surgery from being sick, so the weight I’m losing is that weight.  And I had about 40 pounds I wanted to lose to get to my ultimate goal weight.  So, bright side, no?

I get tired very easily.  We ran an errand for a few groceries this morning and I had to come home and take a nap.  I’m still shuffling, but am gradually making my way back to standing straight up again.  And long shirts and nigh shirts are my favorite form of attire right now.  My tummy is still swollen and pants are not my friend.  I did wear shorts yesterday and this morning while my mom visited, but back into a night shirt for now.

And I think another nap.  🙂

Leave a Reply

